Sermon Spill-over (6/14/2015) … “D.L. Moody: An Angry Man”

Rage Rash 1

Since I ran out of time during today’s jam-packed Worship Service at NBFMC today, I wanted to share this encouraging story from the life of D.L. Moody on the topic of anger. Moody wrestled with the issue of anger throughout his life after his salvation. He made slow (but steady) progress….all the while having an amazingly-productive ministry. It’s reported that he shared the Gospel with at least 100 million people during his ministry (long before the technological advances that Billy Graham had available).

Evangelist D.L. Moody, the ‘Billy Graham’ of the nineteenth century, had a sharp temper that he learned to control…usually. One evening, Moody was conducting two- evangelistic services back-to-back. After the first service, as Mr. Moody was standing near the door welcoming the new crowd, a man approached him and delivered a highly offensive insult of some sort. Moody never told what the insult was, but it must have been very personal, for in a sudden fit of anger, Moody shoved the man and sent him tumbling down a short flight of stairs. The man was not badly harmed, but Moody’s friends wondered how the evangelist could now possibly preach at the second service. “When I saw Moody give way to his temper,” said one observer, I said to myself, ‘The meeting is killed.’ The large number who had seen the whole thing will hardly be in condition to be influenced by anything more Mr. Moody can say tonight.”
But D.L. Moody stood up, called the meeting to order, and with a trembling voice spoke these words: “Friends, before beginning tonight I want to confess that I yielded to my temper, out in the hall, and have done wrong. Just as I was coming in here tonight, I lost my temper with a man, and I want to confess my wrong before you all, and if that man is present here whom I thrust away from me in anger, I want to ask his forgiveness and God’s. Let us pray.

Instead of being a lost cause, the meeting seemed unusually touched that night, with many people deeply and eternally impressed with the Gospel.

When we have lapses of anger and “snap” on loved ones, acquaintances, and strangers; may we be as humble as D.L. Moody….pleading the grace and mercy of Jesus Christ. The world doesn’t need more Christian hypocrites, but can always benefit from witnessing more humble followers of Jesus that are striving to follow Him better.

Published in: on June 14, 2015 at 4:33 PM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pastormackenstein.wordpress.com/2015/06/14/sermon-spill-over-d-l-moody-an-angry-man/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

