Living 40 Days in The Fast Lane

This post is to tell those who follow this blog, my New Brighton Free Methodist congregation, my friends, and all my family that I will be fasting for the next 40 days.  I began today (Sept. 14) and I will complete my fast on Sunday, Oct. 25.  I will be abstaining from food and will drink only water, juice, and occasionally broth.  The longest that I have previously fasted was 7 days, which took place last Fall.  I felt led and challenged by God to trust Him more and to deepen that trust during this fast.  Please be praying for me as I take this leap of faith.  🙂

The purpose for this fast is to spend time praying for my church and our community.  My Fall Sermon Series (“God and My City) will also address this goal, but I feel personally led to kick-off this series through fasting in this way.  I will be praying for all that are within arms reach of our church and yet don’t know the Lord.  I will be praying for God’s people to take risks in order to get to know their community and neighbors.  I am praying that we will hunger for God’s glory to be shown through us, rather than simply waiting for someone else in our area to do that.  I have big hopes for this time of fasting, but they are rooted in the faithfulness of God and definitely not in my own strength or will-power.  If you wish to join with me in any way on this journey of fasting, please let me know so that I can be praying for and encourage you.

As often as I am able, I will be including Daily Devotionals on this site.  I hope that they will be an encouragement to you and will spur you on to hunger after God consistently in your life.

Thank you for your prayers and support!

Seeking God for the City,

Pastor Josh Mackenstein

Published in: on September 14, 2011 at 4:20 PM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pastormackenstein.wordpress.com/2011/09/14/living-40-days-in-the-fast-lane/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

