Daily Lent Devotional #46 (4/23/2011)

Today’s Topic:  “The Aftermath of the Crucifixion”

Luke 18: 31-34

50 And when Jesus had cried out again in a loud voice, he gave up his spirit.

51 At that moment the curtain of the temple was torn in two from top to bottom. The earth shook and the rocks split. 52 The tombs broke open and the bodies of many holy people who had died were raised to life. 53 They came out of the tombs, and after Jesus’ resurrection they went into the holy city and appeared to many people.

54 When the centurion and those with him who were guarding Jesus saw the earthquake and all that had happened, they were terrified, and exclaimed, “Surely he was the Son of God!”

55 Many women were there, watching from a distance.

Philippians 3: 7-11

7 “But whatever was to my profit I now consider loss for the sake of Christ. 8 What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ 9 and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ—the righteousness that comes from God and is by faith. 10 I want to know Christ and the power of his resurrection and the fellowship of sharing in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, 11 and so, somehow, to attain to the resurrection from the dead.

We’ll start today’s devotional off with the word “aftermath.”

Some definitions for it are:

1.  A consequence of a disaster or misfortune

2. A period of time following a disastrous or ruinous event

I’ve always imagined what it was like for the disciples on the evening of Good Friday until Easter Sunday.  We get some glimpses from the Scriptures of them huddled in a locked room out of fear that the same Jewish leaders who killed Jesus would soon come after them (John 20:19).  We can imagine the sadness, shock, and disillusionment that they must have had.  After any personal, national, or global tragedy; we have some of the same symptoms.  We feel disconnected and numb.  “I can’t believe this happened.” or “how could this happen?” are the frequent statements people make in the aftermath of tragic events.

It doesn’t get more tragic than the Son of God dying, killed by the ones He was sent to save.  It doesn’t get more horrific than the Light of the World being extinguished.  It doesn’t get more ruinous than when the God who gives breath to all beings…stops breathing.  Nature, itself, was aware of the seriousness of Good Friday.  This can explain the havoc that broke loose in Jerusalem upon Jesus’ death.  Creation seemingly vomited at the horrific sight of its King being killed.  Things were at their darkest.

So we sit in the aftermath of the crucifixion.  We resist the urge to rush to Easter Sunday, knowing that we are all waiting for the True Easter Sunday when Christ comes back again and takes us home to be with Him forever.  Like his disciples were for a few agonizing days, we live in the aftermath.  We wait.  But unlike them, we wait with inextinguishable hope that life will rise out of death.  Beauty can spring forth out of the ashes.  Out of the wreckage of our lives, restoration can be found again.

Attached in my Vodpod on this page is a video for the song  “Aftermath” by Hillsong United.  The lyrics for it are also posted below.  May it inspire you to remember that out of all Good Fridays; God still brings about Easter Sundays.

“Aftermath” by:  Hillsong United

The skies lay low where You are
On the earth You rest Your feet
Yet the hands that cradle the stars
Are the hands that bled for me

In a moment of glorious surrender,
You were broken for all the world to see
Lifted out of the ashes,
I am found in the aftermath

Freedom found in Your scars
In Your grace, my life redeemed
For You chose to take the sinner’s crown
As You placed Your crown on me

In that moment of glorious surrender,
Was the moment You broke the chains in me
Lifted out of the ashes,
I am found in the aftermath

And in that moment You opened up the heavens
To the broken, the beggar, and the thief
Lifted out of the wreckage,
I find hope in the aftermath

And I know that You’re with me
Yes I know that You’re with me here
And I know Your love will light the way

Now all I have I count it all as loss
But to know You and to carry the cross
Knowing I’m found
In the light of the aftermath

Blessings,

Pastor Josh

Published in: on April 23, 2011 at 5:45 AM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pastormackenstein.wordpress.com/2011/04/23/daily-lent-devotional-46-4232011/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

