Daily Lent Devotional #42 (4/19/2011)

Today’s Devotional Topic:   “Being At Home With Jesus”

Today’s Scripture:   John 14: 18-21, 23

18 “I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. 19 Before long, the world will not see me anymore, but you will see me. Because I live, you also will live. 20 On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you. 21 Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me. He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to him… 23 Jesus replied, “If anyone loves me, he will obey my teaching. My Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him.”

The Incarnation of Jesus on Earth is one of the most awesome and hard things to understand and explain to others.  We deal with this every year at Christmastime.  The “other side” of the Incarnation is just as amazing and hard to express in words.  We are told that because Jesus became fully human (as He has always been fully God), died as a human, and was resurrected again in a heavenly body; we share an unbreakable bond with him.  Yes, one day, those who claim Him as Savior will be resurrected with a heavenly body as Jesus to be with Him forever.  But, here and now, Jesus’ bond with believers remains ever-strong.  Along with the encouragement of the Holy Spirit and the love of God the Father; Jesus’ presence remains with us forever.  We just need to stay connected to God and “keep the channels clear” for us to abide in him closer each day.  This is an ongoing challenge that is renewed daily for us all.

Reinforcing the Scripture above, here are some words from author Henri Nouwen on the topic of remaining in Jesus’ love and viewing the presence of God as “home”. 🙂

Jesus, in whom the fullness of God dwells, has become our home by making his home in us he allows us to make our home in him. By entering into the intimacy of our innermost self he offers us the opportunity to enter into his own intimacy with God. By choosing us as his preferred dwelling place, he invites us to choose him as our preferred dwelling place. This is the mystery of the incarnation. Here we come to see what discipline in the spiritual life means. It means a gradual process of coming home to where we belong and listening there to the voice which desires our attention. Home is the place where that first love dwells and speaks gently to us. Prayer is the most concrete way to make our home in God.

Blessings,

Pastor Josh

Published in: on April 19, 2011 at 6:00 AM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pastormackenstein.wordpress.com/2011/04/19/daily-lent-devotional-42-4192011/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

