“Clumsy”

I woke up pretty hungry today.  Had a mild headache.  I knew today was going to be harder to continue my fasting, after the purposeful energy started to fade from yesterday.  I go into the bathroom.  Light bulb is out.  No problem… I got this.  Unscrew deceased light bulb and drop it.  Shatters all over my bathroom sink.  My day has begun.

Maybe you can relate to this story.  You probably have had far worse starts to a morning (as have I).  I only mention this little snippet from my life to get at the word “clumsy”.  Whenever I don’t eat and/or don’t get enough sleep, I turn into a bit of a mess.  My coordination (which is already questionable) becomes downright laughable.  I start dropping stuff… a lot.  My brain becomes fuzzy.  My speech gets jumbled and goofy.  I become forgetful of basic things.  Forgot to shave this morning until it was time to leave, but also forgot that I had shampooed my hair once and ended up doing that twice.  In one day’s time, I’ve turned into a sloppy, stumbling, bumbling mess.  Clumsy.

The reality is that all of us come before the God of the universe in this way.  Because of our sin and selfishness, we often trip over our own feet.  We don’t take time to properly read our surroundings.  We are clumsy.  Romans 3: 10-12 says:

10“As it is written: “There is no one righteous, not even one;
11there is no one who understands, no one who seeks God.
12All have turned away, they have together become worthless;
there is no one who does good, not even one.”

The good news is that God reaches out to us in our sinful “clumsiness” and offers forgiveness and a fresh start through Jesus Christ.  Romans 5: 6-8 reminds us:

6″You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. 7Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous man, though for a good man someone might possibly dare to die. 8But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

In spite of our clumsiness and mistakes, Jesus enters into our story and invites up into the Big Story God is telling and a seat at the table of the King of Kings.  Below is the lyrics to the song “Clumsy” and a video of the song being performed live.  Great, honest lyrics that express how we all feel and remind us of the steadfast love of Christ.

Blessings,

Pastor Josh

Clumsy by:  Chris Rice

You think I’d have it down by now
Been practicin’ for thirty years
I should have walked a thousand miles
So what am I still doin’ here
Reachin’ out for that same old piece of forbidden fruit
I slip and fall and I knock my halo loose
Somebody tell me what’s a boy supposed to do?

Chorus:

I get so clumsy
I get so foolish
I get so stupid
And then I feel so useless
But You’re sayin’ You love me
And You’re still gonna hold me
And that You wanna be near me
‘Cause You’re makin’ me holy
You’re still makin’ me holy, yeah

I’m gonna get it right this time
I’ll be strong and I’ll make You proud
I’ve prayed that prayer a thousand times
But the rooster crows and my tears roll down (again)
Then You remind me You made me from the dust
And I can never, no never, be good enough
And that You’re not gonna let that come between us

REPEAT CHORUS

From where I stand
Your holiness is up so high I can never reach it
My only hope is to fall on Jesus

REPEAT CHORUS

Published in: on October 19, 2010 at 3:00 PM  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pastormackenstein.wordpress.com/2010/10/19/clumsy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

