Winning The Jackpot

I love Wal-Mart greeters!  I love the concept of dedicating a job position (or at least a portion of their time) to greeting and welcoming customers.  Granted, other places utilize greeters too (churches included!), but I appreciate Wal-Mart greeters who take their craft seriously.  Anyway…. I was listening to the great new Jeremy Camp album (“We Cry Out”) in my car before going into Wal-Mart one night this week.  I actually sat in the car, while parked, so I could finish a song on it (anybody else do that?).  I go into Wal-Mart, freshly-blessed, smile and preemptively greet the Greeter.  He smiles back and says, “Wow….you’re smiling like you won the jackpot or something!”  I told him I was just enjoying some great worship music in the car and was just feeling extra blessed by God that day.  I then, watched his face.  You’ve seen the expression.  When someone’s “brain computer” is having difficulty processing the reality of what they’ve seen or heard….. that look.  After a second of that look, the Greeter said, “Have a great day, sir!”  I replied, “You, too!”

Hitting the jackpot…….sounds a lot like the Christian experience to me.  The Apostle Paul talked about it throughout his letters, referring to it as “riches” that we have in Christ (Ephesians 2:7, 3:8; Philippians 4:19; Colossians 1:27, 2:2).  Our forgiveness, salvation, fresh start, and new heart….. all of it is grounded and rooted in Jesus Christ.  Like winning the jackpot, I guess 🙂

Also, for your viewing pleasure:  The future of Costco greeters 🙂

Blessings,

Pastor Josh

“>

Published in: on September 13, 2010 at 10:00 AM  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pastormackenstein.wordpress.com/2010/09/13/winning-the-jackpot/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

