Daily Devotional (7/30/10): “An Evening Prayer”

Psalm 139:23-24

23 Search me, O God, and know my heart;
test me and know my anxious thoughts.

24 See if there is any offensive way in me,
and lead me in the way everlasting.

What a breath-taking notion that these verses bring forth!  Not only will I not hide my sin and mistakes, but I could openly ask God to search the shadows and closed doors of my heart and life.  I would ask Him to test my faith and devotion to Him, to see if my heart has any other suitors.  This open invitation to give the God of the Universe free reign to invade my life and rearrange it as He sees fit….it is truly staggering!  Only someone who hungers after holiness and desires to love God (and their neighbors) with all their heart/mind/soul/strength would make such a request.

This is the attitude that flows from the hymn “An Evening Prayer” by C. Maude Battersby in 1895.  The lyrics are  posted below and a brief rendition of the song being sung by Elvis Presley is attached to my Vodpod on this page.

Blessings,

Pastor Josh

An Evening Prayer

If I have wounded any soul today,
If I have caused one foot to go astray,
If I have walked in my own willful way,
Dear Lord, forgive!

If I have uttered idle words or vain,
If I have turned aside from want or pain,
Lest I myself shall suffer through the strain,
Dear Lord, forgive!

If I have been perverse or hard, or cold,
If I have longed for shelter in Thy fold,
When Thou hast given me some fort to hold,
Dear Lord, forgive!

Forgive the sins I have confessed to Thee;
Forgive the secret sins I do not see;
O guide me, love me and my keeper be,
Dear Lord, Amen.

Published in: on July 30, 2010 at 6:00 PM  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pastormackenstein.wordpress.com/2010/07/30/daily-devotional-73010-an-evening-prayer/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

