Daily Devotional (7/29/10): “The Choice is Mine”

It was an honor to conduct the funeral of long-time NBFMC member Anna yesterday, and today I will share another favorite hymn of hers.  “The Choice is Mine” was written by Ira Stanphill in 1961 and is filled with the choices that stand before us in our moments of weakness and crisis.  In ministry, I’ve encountered people who I would classify as “runners”.  When things get difficult, when things do not go as planned, when things are uncomfortable; they run away.  Sometimes they run from their church family, their actual family, their work responsibilities, or reality itself through substance abuse.  C.S. Lewis said, “Faith is the art of holding on to things your reason once accepted, despite your changing moods.”  To have faith is to make a conscious choice to put your trust in God, and to hold on to that faith despite the swirling winds of change that will come our way.  But to each one, a choice to follow Christ or to reject Him lingers in the air.  The Choice is Yours and Mine.  Attached in my Vodpod on this page is a rendition of this song and the lyrics are posted below.

Blessings,

Pastor Josh

“The Choice Is Mine”

I can be strong, I can be brave,
I can be free, or be a slave.
I can forgive as He forgave
The choice is mine.

I can go through in storm or gale,
I can be true, or I can fail;
I can desert or set my sail.
The choice is mine.

If I would live then I must die
And bid this fleeting world goodbye
It’s treasures dear, I must deny
The choice is mine.

I’ll walk by faith where I am led,
It matters not what lies ahead,
And if the path be crimson red,
The choice is mine.

I can have faith.  I can have fear.
I can believe that God is near,
Or I can doubt the things I hear.
The choice is mine.

I can draw close, or I can strain.
I can submit, or go my way.
Within my heart, I hear him say,
‘The choice is mine.’

If I, the King of Heaven, choose
If I, the things of Earth, refuse
The best I’d gain, the worst I’d lose.
The choice is mine.

Because He gave His life for me,
Because of love at Calvary
I take Him for eternity.
The choice is mine.

Published in: on July 29, 2010 at 9:00 AM  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pastormackenstein.wordpress.com/2010/07/29/daily-devotional-72910-%e2%80%9cthe-choice-is-mine%e2%80%9d/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is really good. I was searching for the lyrics to this song…one I have liked for years. Thanks for posting it along with your very appropriate comments!

  2. I am very grateful to you for putting this song here. I learnt this song as a teenager over forty yrs ago, and I have been singing it but I must confess I got the sequence of some of the verses mixed up, now they are rectified. Thank you.

  3. I first heard this song from Jack Holcomb may years ago and it was certainly refreshing to see the lyrics and just brought back good memories. I must admit that all day I have been humming this song and it sure brightened my day.
    Thank you

  4. I sang this song in my father in laws church. It served to confirm to him that he would leave the church he started for one in ‘the wildwood’. I sang it again in that church a few years later and it, again, confirmed in him that he should set his house in order as the Lord was calling him home. In both instances, he had a peace that passed all understanding, and all of this unbeknown to me.


Leave a Reply

