“What Jesus Demands From The World” – Daily Devotional (6/08/10): Demand #7 “Abide In Me”

John 8:31-32

31If you abide in my word, you are truly my disciples. 32Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.

John 15:4-5, 9 (NKJV)

4 Abide in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in Me. 5 I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing.

9 As the Father loved Me, I also have loved you; abide in My love.

Definitions for “Abide” (Merriam-Webster Dictionary):

“to wait for, to endure without yielding, to bear patiently, to accept without objection, to remain stable or in a fixed state, to continue in a place, to conform to, to acquiesce to”

Definitions for “Abiding in Jesus” (Mackenstein’s Extremely-Limited Edition Fictional Dictionary):

“to draw near and stay near Jesus, to desire closeness with Jesus, to recognize the foolishness of trying to live a ‘Christian’ life without consistent contact with Christ, to have a sense of peace that Jesus will stay with me on days that I’ve been neglectful of him, to grow daily in my understanding of Jesus, to want to be closer to Jesus in 1 year than I am today, to want to be closer to Jesus today than I was yesterday, to try to get better at running towards Christ when I’m hurting (instead of running away and hiding), to block out or knock out things/relationships that draw me away from Jesus, to just ask for ‘daily bread’ from Jesus because I fully plan on talking to him again tomorrow”

How would you define “abide”?  I love the King James Version better than the New International Version of these passages.  The word abide just has a fuller, richer meaning to me than the NIV’s translation (“remain”).  Both indicate intent and follow-through.  I will intend to stay with Jesus the rest of my days, and he will follow-through on his commitment to me even on the days that I fall short.  Do you have a relationship with Jesus where you “check-in” from time to time?  Do you have a relationship with Jesus where you view him as part emergency room physician / part wish-granting genie?  Embrace Jesus for all he is……abide in him and he’ll abide in you.

Blessings,

Pastor Josh

Published in: on June 8, 2010 at 6:00 AM  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pastormackenstein.wordpress.com/2010/06/08/%e2%80%9cwhat-jesus-demands-from-the-world%e2%80%9d-%e2%80%93-daily-devotional-60810-demand-7-%e2%80%9cabide-in-me%e2%80%9d/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

